Who we are


Rob Zako

Executive Director

Rob Zako has been working for the last two decades on transportation, land use, and climate change issues. He is…

Claire Roth

Safe Streets Coordinator

Claire began her position as Safe Streets Coordinator in September 2018, coordinating BEST’s advocacy efforts to enhance walking and biking…

Board of Directors

Laura Potter


Laura is a residential real estate broker working with buyers, sellers and investors. Before moving into residential real estate as…

Alexis Biddle

Vice President

Alexis is the Urban Lands Advocate for 1000 Friends of Oregon. He holds dual degrees in law and well as…

Jon Belcher


Jon Belcher has been involved in community organizations almost since he moved to Eugene in 1978. He has been a…

Bob Passaro


Bob is co-owner of a web development and design agency based in downtown Eugene. He had been a newspaper reporter…

Michael DeLuise

Now retired, Mike served as chair of the Downtown Neighborhood Association and was a member of the Eugene Active Transportation…

Mike Eyster

Mike has served on and chaired multiple local and regional boards such as Lane Transit District, Springfield Area Chamber of…

Marianne Nolte

Marianne is a former BEST employee, and now works in Lane County’s land management department. She holds a masters degree…

Terry Parker

Now retired, in addition with BEST Terry volunteers with the League of Women Voters of Lane County and 350 Eugene….

Brett Rowlett

Brett has over two decades of experience advocating for higher education issues and is currently Director of Public Affairs for…

Board of Advisors

John Allcott

Shawn Boles

Eric Burdette

Wendee Crofoot

Julie Daniel

Rick Duncan

Terry McDonald

Sarah Mazze

Sophie McGinley

Matt McRae

Karmen Fore

David Funk

Gerry Gaydos

George Grier

Eric Gunderson

Clare Haley

Pat Hocken

Richard Hughes

Kaarin Knudson

Brittany Quick-Warner

Scott Rogers

Shane Rhodes

Matt Roberts

Seth Sadofsky

Marc Schlossberg

Carmel Snyder

Jean Tate

Kari Turner

Jenny Ulum

Aliza Whalen

Sue Wolling