Legislature hits the road to hear about transportation needs

By Rob Zako
July 3, 2024

The Joint Committee on Transportation will stop in Eugene on July 17 for a tour of transportation facilities, a roundtable discussion with area leaders, and a public hearing.

2023–25 ODOT Legislative Budget: $6.1 Billion in Expenditures
Source: ODOT

The Oregon Legislature’s Joint Committee on Transportation (JCT) will stop in Eugene on July 17 as part of its statewide “roadshow”:

  • 11:30 am–1:30 pmTour of Eugene-Area Transportation Facilities
  • 2:00 pm–4:00 pmRoundtable Discussion
  • 5:00 pm–7:00 pmPublic Hearing

    Lane Events Center (796 West 13th Ave, Eugene)

“Roadshow”

As they develop a transportation funding package to be considered during the 2025 session, the JCT will be stopping in 12 communities around the state (and a 13th virtually) to discuss the need for stable and sufficient transportation funding:

  • Tuesday, June 4: Downtown Portland
  • Tuesday, June 18: Tillamook
  • Tuesday, July 16: Albany
  • Wednesday, July 17: Eugene
  • Wednesday, August 7: Coos Bay
  • Thursday, August 8: Medford
  • Wednesday, August 28: Ontario
  • Thursday August 29: Hermiston
  • Thursday, September 12: Bend
  • Friday, September 13: The Dalles
  • Wednesday, September 25: Salem (VIRTUAL)
  • Thursday, September 26: Happy Valley
  • Friday, September 27: Hillsboro

The goals of these meetings are to:

  1. Build public understanding of transportation funding challenges and potential funding tools to address those challenges.
  2. Build legislative understanding of statewide transportation needs and shared priorities.
  3. Build local, regional, statewide support and a sense of urgency for a transportation funding package focused on maintenance, operations, and safety.
  4. Gather input from the public and community leaders about preferred methods for addressing the transportation funding challenge.

External links

Further reading

See also

See other posts concerning